Accounting & Bookkeeping & Small Business Forum

Accounting, Bookkeeping, Marketing, and Small Business Resource
It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 1:01 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 7:24 am 

Hi all. I am currently studying a Book keeping course and I have been introduced to the PEARLS system half way through and since then I have had nothing but problems. I understand the whole increase of purchase is a debit and increase a credit... but I can't get it to work in the Sales Ledger.

If Mrs B Smith spends £138 in my store then that is an increase in the Asset of cash putting it on the Debit side of her individual T account (that's what the course tells me) but surely it is an increase in Revenue so it should be on the Credit side?

I just don't get how you are meant to decide whether it is an asset or revenue!? PLEASE HELP BEFORE I LOSE MY MIND!!!!

Dollie x

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 8:35 pm 
Qualified Contributor

Let's look at it this way. Debits show us what we have and Credits show us where it came from. The Debit is the money in the bank. That is what we have. So we Debit our Bank account. Where did the money come from? It came from Sales, so we will Credit the Revenue side.

You need to look at the type of account you are working with. Debits Increase Debit Accounts. (Assets, Costs and Expenses) Credits Increase Credit Accounts. (Liabilities, Equity and Revenue)

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 8:14 am 

I'm finding this really difficult to get my head around at the moment as it would seem my course is one of a kind and not in a good way. It's not very well explained and I have literally been given PEARLS to work with so I don't know what you mean by debit and credit accounts. Thank you for replying though. I hope I can get this sorted!! :cry:
Dollie x

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 9:01 am 
Qualified Contributor

P.E.A.R.L.S: