Accounting & Bookkeeping & Small Business Forum

Accounting, Bookkeeping, Marketing, and Small Business Resource
It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 4:17 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post subject: How to record income
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 3:24 pm 

I'm new to accounting and was curious on the best way to record income. Our company leases an aircraft to an aviation company on a leaseback. We receive the income on the leaseback the month after the lease ie. for January Lease we would receive the check in February. Is it best to record this as deposit/income in February or as a deposit in February and do a JE to move the income to Jan?

Post subject: Re: How to record income
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:06 am 
Qualified Contributor

Depends on your basic accounting method; the two main ones being "cash basis" and "accrual basis". If you're on the former, the February deposit would be recorded as income when received (February).

If you're on the accrual method, though, the February deposit would be recorded as income for the period in which it was actually earned (January). You'd debit a receivable and credit the revenue in January, then upon receipt of the money in February you'd credit the receivable.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 7:54 am 

Our tax return is based on a cash basis but when I provide reporting to management it does not show the accruate income and expense for a given month ie. January's income & expense shows in February. when I record the deposit in the month I receive the check. How do Accountant typically provide reporting in regards to this? Is it best to export it to excel and make adjustments?

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:30 am 
Qualified Contributor

The point you make is a good one. Frequently the method chosen for tax purposes will be a poor choice for internal management reports, as it won't give an accurate picture of the company's true economic performance.